Release of Dave Berry’s Morning Walk Album and Video 

For Immediate release, June 3, 2022 

Dave Berry, mandolinist, composer, singer-songwriter, and Bluegrass Today author has released the album and video Morning Walk, featuring musicians from the California bluegrass community and beyond. These ten original instrumental tunes reflect his Bluegrass and Celtic heritage and passion for fiddle tunes acquired from his very first mandolin instruction book, 30 Fiddle Tunes For Mandolin by Butch Baldassari. He credits attending the Mandolin Symposium, plus other camps, lessons, and workshops from John Reischman, David Grisman, Don Stiernberg, Jody Stecher, Sharon Gilchrist, and Mike Marshall for helping inspire and develop his confidence, sound, and style. A significant amount of recent wood-shedding and a stellar lineup of musicians including  master fiddler Brandon Godman (Laurie Lewis, Dale Ann Bradley) and hammered dulcimer extraordinaire Simon Chrisman (Wes Corbett, Jeremy Kittel) bring out the best in this diverse group of tunes. 

The title track Morning Walk is a three part tune inspired by morning wildlife adventures, viewing hawks, snakes, and, coyotes on the winter green hills of Bernal Hill in San Francisco. The video by Peter Vahle shows band clips interspersed with the photography of Doug Dunderdale in a scenic photographic romp on the hill. 

Brenda Hough put up a nice review on the California Bluegrass website with this snippet. “… each contributor added some nuances of sound that make the songs delightful to hear, and if your feet are so inclined, add a spring to your step and maybe a joy to your heart.” 

Other quotes listed on the website are from Bluegrass Signal producer Peter Thompson, Crooked Jades Co-founder Jeff Kazor, and Chad Manning, Violinist/Founder of Manning Music. 

Track Listing 

1  2:39  Morning Walk 
2  2:37  Pipehorn Backstep 
3  3:43  Buster’s Farewell 
4  3:08  Blackwater Flood at Buffalo Creek 
5  2:25  Abbey Creek    
6  2:43  Mussel Rock    
7  3:09  Dutch Flatt    
8  2:38  Payne Gap 
9  2:54  Western Crossing 
10  2:43  Scotch Hops 

The CD can be purchased or downloaded from the website at or Bandcamp at It is also available on all streaming services including Apple Music and Spotify. Radio programmers can request access to the album at 

Cheers and thanks for supporting the music, 


Leave a comment